11th Biennial Bay-Delta Science Conference

About the Conference

2021 Bay-Delta Science Conference.

The biennial Bay-Delta Science Conference is jointly sponsored by the Delta Stewardship Council (Council) and U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) as a forum for presenting scientific analyses and results relevant to management of the San Francisco Bay and Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta. The goal of the conference is to provide new information and syntheses to the broad community of scientists, engineers, resource managers, and stakeholders working on Bay-Delta issues.

The conference program will feature a range of topics relevant to the Bay-Delta science, management and decision-making community. This year’s conference theme is “Building Resilience through Diversity in Science.” Registration is required to attend.

Conference Participation

Abstract Submission Due Date:

All abstracts for oral sessions (special and general) and posters (including clusters) were due January 5, 2021 by 8:59 PM through the abstract submission portal. For instructions and details, please review the call for abstracts.


As in previous years, the Bay-Delta Science Conference will feature artwork. Artists of all forms and media, including but not limited to painting, photography, sculpture, digital, music, and performance are encouraged to submit proposals. The conference planning committee is particularly interested in featuring original works created through collaborations between artists and scientists. Please view the call for art proposals for submission instructions. The deadline to submit an art proposal has passed.

The Brown-Nichols Science Award

The Brown-Nichols Science Award was established in 2008 in honor of the significant contributions of Dr. Randall Brown and Dr. Frederic Nichols. Each made substantive contributions to science through research, by facilitating good science by others, and by communicating science to managers and policy makers in the San Francisco Estuary and watershed. Together, they laid the foundations for the first Bay-Delta Science Conference.

The award is given to recognize the contributions of a scientist for significant research and active involvement in facilitating the use of science to manage the San Francisco Estuary and watershed. Recent awardees include:

  • Dr. Ted Sommer from the California Department of Water Resources (2018),
  • Dr. Jeffrey Mount from the Public Policy Institute of California’s Water Policy Center (2016), and
  • Dr. Anke Mueller-Solger from the Interagency Ecological Program (2014).

The next award recipient will be announced at the 2021 Bay-Delta Science Conference. The due date for nominations for the Brown Nichols Science Award was January 15, 2021. View the nomination instructions.


Please direct questions to BDSC@deltacouncil.ca.gov.