

A CALIFORNIA STATE AGENCY

For immediate release on September 16, 2024

DR. INGE WERNER BECOMES CHAIR OF THE DELTA ISB

SACRAMENTO – Dr. Inge Werner led her first meeting on September 12, 2024, as Delta Independent Science Board chair. Chair Werner will guide the Delta ISB for the next two years as the Board continues providing independent oversight of scientific programs that support Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta decisionmaking.

"As we look ahead, I am excited about the work we will undertake together, including completing the three thematic reviews on food webs, subsidence, and decision-making under deep uncertainty, and embarking on new reviews, including one on contaminant monitoring in the Delta," said Chair Werner.

Chair Werner succeeds Dr. Lisa Wainger, who completed her two-year term as chair of the Board on August 31, 2024, and now serves as past chair. "Together, we have laid a strong foundation for continued success of the Delta ISB, said Past Chair Dr. Lisa Wainger. "I am excited to see what the future holds for this incredible board."

Prior to joining the Delta ISB in November 2022, Dr. Werner was director of the Swiss Centre for Applied Ecotoxicology for nine years. In Switzerland, she worked closely with federal and local environmental agencies to improve monitoring programs and cooperated in research projects with academic institutions throughout Europe and the United States. Projects included assessments of advanced wastewater treatment technologies and environmental risks due to pesticides.

Throughout her career, Dr. Werner has served on numerous panels and working groups. Most recently, this has included the Scientific Advisory Council of the German Federal Institute of Hydrology, which is the primary German institution advising the federal ministries in matters of utilization and management of waterways, and the Guidance Committee for the Assessment of Surface Water

715 P Street, 15-300 Sacramento, CA 95814

916.445.5511 DELTACOUNCIL.CA.GOV

CHAIR Julie Lee

VICE CHAIR Gayle Miller

MEMBERS

Diane Burgis Frank C. Damrell, Jr. Ben Hueso Maria Mehranian Daniel Zingale

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Jessica R. Pearson Resources in Switzerland, which advises decision-makers in all aspects of surface water stewardship.

To learn more, visit the Delta ISB's <u>members web page</u> (deltacouncil.ca.gov/deltaisb/members). For more information, contact <u>media@deltacouncil.ca.gov</u>.

###

ABOUT THE DELTA ISB

Established in 2010, the Delta Independent Science Board is comprised of 10 prominent scientists with expertise to evaluate the broad range of scientific programs that support adaptive management of the Delta region. The Board advises the Council and provides oversight of the scientific research, monitoring, and assessment programs in the Delta through periodic reviews.

ABOUT THE COUNCIL

The Delta Stewardship Council was created by the California Legislature in 2009 to advance California's water supply reliability and the Delta's ecosystem resiliency in a manner that protects and enhances the region's unique characteristics. It is composed of seven members, advised by an independent 10-member science board, and supported by a dedicated staff. For more information, visit the <u>Council's</u> <u>website</u> (deltacouncil.ca.gov).