

A CALIFORNIA STATE AGENCY

For immediate release on August 19, 2024

## DELTA INDEPENDENT SCIENCE BOARD NAMES DR. DIANE MCKNIGHT CHAIR-ELECT

SACRAMENTO – At its August 15, 2024, meeting, the Delta Independent Science Board voted Dr. Diane McKnight from its existing membership as chair-elect, putting her in line to assume the chair duties in two years. Dr. McKnight's chair-elect duties

begin on September 1, 2024, when the current Chair, Dr. Lisa Wainger, will become past-chair, and the current Chair-Elect, Dr. Inge Werner, will become chair.

Dr. Diane McKnight began her career with the United States Geological Survey. She is currently a professor in the Department of Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering at the University of Colorado. Her research focuses on coupling hydrology, aquatic ecology, and water quality. Dr. McKnight has studied streams, lakes, and wetlands in diverse regions, including the arctic tundra in Alaska, polar desert streams in Antarctica, alpine lakes in the Rocky Mountains, and wetlands in Botswana. From 2015 to 2018, she served as a program officer with the Arctic Program at the National Science Foundation.

"I am honored to accept the position of chair-elect of the Delta Independent Science Board," said Dr. McKnight. "I look forward to collaborating with my esteemed colleagues to uphold the highest standards of scientific integrity and to support evidence-based solutions that address our most pressing environmental challenges."

"Dr. McKnight's expertise and vision will undoubtedly enhance the Board's activities, ensuring a comprehensive and forward-thinking perspective," says Chair Dr. Lisa Wainger. "We are fortunate to have her leadership as we navigate the complex socio-ecological challenges of California's Delta system."

At the meeting, Dr. Wainger also reflected on her time as chair since the August meeting was the last one in her term. "In the past couple of years, we have evolved to more meaningful ways to engage with interested parties and produce different

715 P Street, 15-300 Sacramento, CA 95814

916.445.5511 DELTACOUNCIL.CA.GOV

**CHAIR** Julie Lee

**VICE CHAIR** Gayle Miller

## MEMBERS

Diane Burgis Frank C. Damrell, Jr. Ben Hueso Maria Mehranian Daniel Zingale

**EXECUTIVE OFFICER** Jessica R. Pearson types of products," she said. "We've held some well-received workshops and seminars, and we've heard ways in which the most recently completed reviews are being used in decision-making. In particular, our collective efforts have had a meaningful impact on monitoring strategies and forward-thinking on water supply reliability."

The Delta ISB has three chairship positions: the chair, chair-elect, and past-chair. These positions must be held by active Delta ISB members, and each position has a two-year term. Starting on September 1, 2024, Dr. Werner will serve as chair. Dr. Werner's area of expertise is ecotoxicology. Her professional experience ranges from academic research in aquatic toxicology to a broad applied approach to risk and impact assessment in both aquatic and terrestrial environments.

To learn more, visit the Delta ISB's <u>members web page</u> (deltacouncil.ca.gov/deltaisb/members). For more information, contact <u>media@deltacouncil.ca.gov</u>.

###

## ABOUT THE BOARD

*Established in 2010, the Delta Independent Science Board is comprised of 10 prominent scientists with expertise to evaluate the broad range of scientific programs that support adaptive management of the Delta region. The Board advises the Council and provides oversight of the scientific research, monitoring, and assessment programs in the Delta through periodic reviews.* 

## **ABOUT THE COUNCIL**

The Delta Stewardship Council was created by the California Legislature in 2009 to advance California's water supply reliability and the Delta's ecosystem resiliency in a manner that protects and enhances the region's unique characteristics. It is composed of seven members, advised by an independent 10-member science board, and supported by a dedicated staff. For more information, visit the <u>Council's</u> <u>website</u> (deltacouncil.ca.gov).