

A CALIFORNIA STATE AGENCY

For immediate release on January 30, 2023

## CONTRA COSTA SUPERVISOR DIANE BURGIS JOINS COUNCIL

SACRAMENTO - The Delta Stewardship Council is pleased to welcome Contra Costa Supervisor and Delta Protection Commission Chair Diane Burgis to the Council. Of the Council's seven members, four are appointed by the Governor, one each by the Senate and Assembly, and the seventh member is the chair of the Delta Protection Commission.

715 P Street, 15-300 Sacramento, CA 95814

916.445.5511 **DELTACOUNCIL.CA.GOV** 

CHAIR

Virginia Madueño

**MEMBERS** 

Frank C. Damrell, Jr. **Christy Smith** Diane Burgis Daniel Zingale Iulie Lee

**EXECUTIVE OFFICER** Jessica R. Pearson

"Supervisor Burgis' appreciation for the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta's unique values and characteristics, coupled with her deep understanding of the complex issues facing the region, make her an amazing asset to the Council and staff," says Chair Virginia Madueño. "[Former Supervisor Don Nottoli's] seat is undoubtedly in good hands with Diane."

Supervisor Burgis represents the 230,000 residents of District 3, which includes a majority of Contra Costa County's Delta region, including the communities of Antioch, Bethel Island, Brentwood, Byron, Discovery Bay, Knightsen, and Oakley. Prior to being elected to the Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors in 2016, she served as a trustee on the East Bay Regional Parks District Board and as a member of the Oakley City Council.

"I am so impressed by the Council's staff, whom I can already tell are earnest and intelligent people committed to doing the best job they can," says Supervisor Burgis. "I look forward to learning from you all and working toward the Council's mission of advancing California's water supply reliability and the Delta's ecosystem resiliency while protecting and enhancing the Delta as a place and as our State's first National Heritage Area."

To learn more about Supervisor Burgis and other Council members, visit the Council members web page (deltacouncil.ca.gov/council-members).

For more information, contact <u>media@deltacouncil.ca.gov</u>.

## **ABOUT THE COUNCIL**

The Delta Stewardship Council was created by the California Legislature effective in 2010, to advance California's water supply reliability and the Delta's ecosystem resiliency in a manner that protects and enhances the region's unique characteristics. It is composed of seven members, advised by an independent 10-member science board, and supported by a dedicated staff. For more information, visit the <u>Council's website</u> (deltacouncil.ca.gov).