

A CALIFORNIA STATE AGENCY

For immediate release on September 15, 2022

DR. LISA WAINGER BECOMES CHAIR OF THE DELTA ISB

SACRAMENTO – Dr. Lisa Wainger led her first meeting today as chair of the Delta Independent Science Board. Chair Wainger will guide the Delta ISB for the next two years as they continue

promoting independent, peer-reviewed science to support Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta decision-making.

"I'm excited to be chairing this Board, particularly with this set of members whose intellects I am deeply impressed by," said Chair Wainger. "I want to help the Board find its comparative advantage, increase awareness of social science and its benefits, and widen our already open door to diversify the voices heard as we consider the risks and issues facing the Delta."

Chair Wainger succeeds Dr. Stephen Brandt, who completed his second two-year term as chair of the Board on August 31, 2022.

"The Board is in a strong position and has the comradery necessary to produce valuable and useful products," said Past Chair Brandt. "It is clear to me that Lisa will bring a fresh and creative spirit to the Board, and you will all be in good hands."

In addition to serving on the Delta ISB since September 2020, Chair Wainger is also a research professor at the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science where she focuses on the optimal design of environmental restoration investments using a suite of ecological and economic models to evaluate costs, benefits, and risks and to identify incentive changes that could motivate action.

Throughout her career, she has pioneered techniques to include land spatial configuration into economic valuation and wetland mitigation policy. She is known for developing economically-based non-monetary benefit indicators to improve the representation of tradeoffs in natural resource decision-making; being published widely on the topics of water quality, invasive species management, ecosystem

715 P Street, 15-300 Sacramento, CA 95814

916.445.5511 DELTACOUNCIL.CA.GOV

CHAIR Virginia Madueño

MEMBERS

Frank C. Damrell, Jr. Christy Smith Maria Mehranian Don Nottoli Daniel Zingale Julie Lee

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Jessica R. Pearson service valuation, aquaculture, and commercial and recreational fishing; and serving on multiple science advisory boards to governmental and nongovernmental organizations, including as past chair of the Scientific and Technical Advisory Board to the Chesapeake Bay Program partnership.

For more information, contact <u>media@deltacouncil.ca.gov</u>.

###

ABOUT THE DELTA ISB

Established in 2010, the Delta ISB is a board of 10 prominent scientists with expertise to evaluate the broad range of scientific programs that support adaptive management of the Delta region. The Delta ISB advises the Council and provides oversight of the scientific research, monitoring, and assessment programs in the Delta through periodic reviews.

ABOUT THE COUNCIL

The Delta Stewardship Council was created by the California Legislature in 2009 to advance California's water supply reliability and the Delta's ecosystem resiliency in a manner that protects and enhances the region's unique characteristics. It is composed of seven members, advised by an independent 10-member science board, and supported by a dedicated staff. For more information visit the <u>Council's</u> <u>website</u> (deltacouncil.ca.gov).