

For immediate release on June 23, 2022

Contacts:
Brittany Young
brittany.young@deltacouncil.ca.gov

Geneva Hutcheson geneva.hutcheson@deltacouncil.ca.gov

## VICE-CHAIR VIRGINIA MADUEÑO VOTED CHAIR OF THE DELTA STEWARDSHIP COUNCIL

715 P Street, 15-300 Sacramento, CA 95814

916.445.5511 DELTACOUNCIL.CA.GOV

CHAIR

Virginia Madueño

VICE-CHAIR

Vacant

**MEMBERS** 

Frank C. Damrell, Jr. Christy Smith Maria Mehranian Don Nottoli Daniel Zingale Julie Lee

**EXECUTIVE OFFICER** lessica R. Pearson

SACRAMENTO – At its June 23, 2022 meeting, the Delta Stewardship Council voted Vice-Chair Virginia Madueño to the post of chair.



"It's been a pleasure and a privilege acting in the absence of a full-time chair," said Chair Madueño. "I see this as a huge responsibility and will rise to the occasion with all of you. Together, we can work creatively as a unified body to meet the needs and challenges we will face in the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta."

Chair Madueño's duties will take effect after she takes an oath to the position, which has been vacant since former Chair Susan Tatayon's term ended in February 2022. Chair duties may be carried out for no more than four years.

"Chair Madueño will bring decisive leadership and a fresh perspective to the chairship," said Executive Officer Jessica R. Pearson. "I look forward to continuing our work toward the coequal goals under her stewardship."

Chair Madueño was appointed to the Council by Governor Newsom in 2021 and has since served as a councilmember, vice-chair, and interim chair. Her term on the Council expires on June 23, 2026.

To learn more about Chair Madueño, please visit the Councilmembers web page.

###

## **ABOUT THE COUNCIL**

Created by the California Legislature in 2009, the Delta Stewardship Council is composed of members who represent different parts of the state and offer diverse expertise in fields such as environmental issues, science, and public service. Of the seven, four are appointed by the Governor, one each by the Senate and Assembly, and the seventh is the chair of the Delta Protection Commission. For more information visit the Council's website.