

DELTA STEWARDSHIP COUNCIL

Delta Stewardship Council Delta Plan Interagency Implementation Committee

April 15, 2024 DPIIC Spring Gathering Summary

The Delta Stewardship Council (Council) established the Delta Plan Interagency Implementation Committee (DPIIC or Committee) after adopting the Delta Plan in 2013 and continues to oversee DPIIC activities as required by the Delta Reform Act. DPIIC serves as a forum to lead state, federal, and local agencies' efforts to implement the Delta Plan and Delta Science Plan. Committee members collaborate to implement their agencies' policies and authorities in ways that help achieve the co-equal goals of a more reliable California water supply and a restored, enhanced ecosystem in the Delta.

A recording of the afternoon portion of the meeting is available on the Council's YouTube channel: <u>https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6yBV3oF0sG8</u>.

Meeting materials and presentations can also be found on the Council's website: <u>https://www.deltacouncil.ca.gov/dpiic/meetings</u>

Attendees

The following committee members were in attendance:

Josh Grover

Deputy Director, Ecosystem Conservation Division California Department of Fish and Wildlife

Tawny Mata	Director, Office of Environmental Farming and Innovation California Department of Food and Agriculture
Cindy Messer	Lead Deputy Director, California Department of Water Resources
Anna Naimark	Deputy Secretary and Special Counsel for Water Policy, California Environmental Protection Agency
Nancy Vogel	Deputy Secretary for Water, California Natural Resources Agency
Jane Dolan	President, Central Valley Flood Protection Board
Diane Burgis	Chair, Delta Protection Commission
Amanda Cranford	Natural Resource Management Specialist, National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration (NMFS)
Campbell Ingram	Executive Officer, Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Conservancy
Larry Goldzband	Executive Director, San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission
E. Joaquin Esquivel	Chair, State Water Resources Control Board
Josephine Axt	Chief of Planning, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Dave Mooney	Area Manager, Bay-Delta Office, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
Eric Reichard	Southwest Regional Director, U.S. Geological Survey

Rachael Orellana	U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Michael Beakes	U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Panelists:	
Amanda Bohl	Special Assistant for Planning and Science, Delta Stewardship Council
Morgan Chow	Senior Planner, Delta Stewardship Council
Lisamarie Windham-Myers	Interim Delta Lead Scientist, Delta Stewardship Council
Tricia Lee	Senior Environmental Scientist, Delta Stewardship Council
Ellen Preece	Limnologist, Cyanobacteria/Cyanotoxin Expert, Department of Water Resources
Laura Twardochleb	Environmental Program Manager, California State Water Resources Control Board
Meredith Howard	Environmental Program Manager, Central Valley Regional Water Quality Control Board
Rachel Wigginton	Senior Environmental Scientist (Specialist), Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Conservancy

Stockton Tour with Little Manila Rising

Little Manila Rising Historic Site

Chair Diane Burgis called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m. DPIIC members and attendees visited the Little Manila Historic site to hear from members of Little Manila Rising about environmental justice issues within Stockton. A recess was called at 10:10 a.m. to travel to the next tour site.

Edible Schoolyard Community Farm

Chair Burgis reconvened DPIIC at 10:30 a.m. DPIIC members and attendees toured the Edible Schoolyard Community Farm to hear about the edible schoolyard and health-related environmental justice issues. The meeting was recessed at 11:45 a.m.

Welcome and Introductions

Chair Burgis called the meeting back to order at 12:45 p.m.

Chair Burgis provided opening statements to the committee and attendees before asking DPIIC members to introduce themselves.

Environmental Justice in the Delta

Chair Burgis introduced Special Assistant for Planning and Science Amanda Bohl and Senior Planner Morgan Chow to provide an update to the DPIIC members on the Council's tribal and environmental justice issue paper.

Joaquin Esquivel provided thanks to Bohl and Morgan.

There was one public comment: Barbara Barrigan-Parrilla, Restore the Delta.

Draft Delta Cyanobacteria Harmful Algal Blooms Monitoring Strategy

Chair Burgis provided opening comments and welcomed the Interim Delta Lead Scientist Lisamarie Windham-Myers to introduce the panel and present.

Windham-Myers, Laura Twardochleb, Meredith Howard, and Ellen Preece presented the Delta Cyanobacteria Harmful Algal Blooms Monitoring Strategy.

With the panelists, DPIIC members discussed mitigation, expectations from the HABs strategy, a need/call for collaboration, climate change, water quality, public health risks, critical synthesis, nutrient inputs, the complexity of the HABs issue, monitoring, satellite technology, data collection, best practices, next steps, and the importance of public outreach.

There was one public comment: Spencer Ferne, Restore the Delta.

Chair Burgis asked if anyone objected to endorsing the Delta Cyanobacteria Harmful Algal Blooms Monitoring Strategy in concept. There was no public comment.

There was no objection to endorsing, in concept, the Delta Cyanobacteria Harmful Algal Blooms Monitoring Strategy.

Delta Plan Interagency Implementation Committee Restoration Subcommittee Update

Rachel Wigginton provided the DPIIC members with an update on the Restoration Subcommittee's activities.

Campbell Ingram offered thanks to everyone working on the subcommittee and to everyone working on restoration in the Delta.

There was no public comment.

Salinity Management Workshop Outcomes

Chair Burgis re-introduced Interim Delta Lead Scientist Lisamarie Windham-Myers. Windham-Myers offered key takeaways from the Salinity Management Workshop held March 26-27, 2024.

There was no public comment.

Closing Remarks

Chair Burgis thanked the Committee and attendees before recognizing Mike Chotkowski's retirement from the US Geological Survey (USGS). Chotkowski often represented the USGS at DPIIC and was instrumental in the 2016 Science Enterprise Workshop. Chair Burgis thanked Chotkowski for his years of service.

There was no public comment.

Public Comment

There was no general public comment.

Chair Burgis adjourned the meeting at 2:45 p.m.