

September 27, 2023

Ted Craddock, State Water Project Deputy Director
California Department of Water Resources
715 P St
Sacramento, CA 95814

Delivered via email: Ted.Craddock@water.ca.gov

715 P Street, 15-300 Sacramento, CA 95814

916.445.5511 DELTACOUNCIL.CA.GOV

CHAIR

Virginia Madueño

MEMBERS

Diane Burgis Frank C. Damrell, Jr. Ben Hueso Julie Lee Maria Mehranian Daniel Zingale

EXECUTIVE OFFICERJessica R. Pearson

RE: Independent Letter Review of the Methodology for the Delta Smelt Summer-Fall Habitat Action Monitoring and Science Plans

Dear Mr. Craddock,

The Delta Stewardship Council's Delta Science Program (DSP) is pleased to accept the request of the Department of Water Resources to convene an independent scientific panel to review the methodology for the Delta Smelt Summer-Fall Habitat Action Monitoring and Science Plans and decision approach.

The DSP mission is to provide the best possible scientific information to guide management and inform decision making in the Bay-Delta system. One of the ways that the DSP advances that mission is by convening independent peer review panels to evaluate scientific and technical processes, programs, plans, and products.

As requested, DSP will convene and facilitate a panel of subject matter experts to review the materials, and each provide a letter presenting their findings and recommendations for improvement of the materials to best inform evaluation of the SFHA. This will be completed by summer 2024.

Regarding Independent Panel Review of the Methodology for the Delta Smelt Summer-Fall Habitat Action Monitoring and Science Plans, Ted Craddock, September 21, 2023

We look forward to working with your staff to convene this independent review panel. If there any questions about this response, please contact Aaron Angel, Environmental Scientist, at Aaron.Angel@deltacouncil.ca.gov or 916-902-6498.

Sincerely,

Laurel Larsen, PhD

Jamel C. M. Jan

Delta Lead Scientist

Delta Science Program, Delta Stewardship Council

CC (via email):

Brittany Davis, <u>Brittany.E.Davis@water.ca.gov</u>

Rachael Klopfenstein, Rachael.Klopfenstein@deltacouncil.ca.gov

Aaron Angel, Aaron.Angel@deltacouncil.ca.gov