

DELTA STEWARDSHIP COUNCIL

Delta Stewardship Council Delta Plan Interagency Implementation Committee July 18, 2022 Meeting Summary

The Delta Stewardship Council (Council) established the Delta Plan Interagency Implementation Committee (DPIIC or Committee) after adopting the Delta Plan in 2013 and continues to oversee DPIIC activities as required by the Delta Reform Act. DPIIC serves as a forum to lead state, federal, and local agencies' efforts to implement the Delta Plan and Delta Science Plan. Committee members collaborate to implement their agencies' policies and authorities in ways that help achieve the co-equal goals of a more reliable California water supply and a restored, enhanced ecosystem in the Delta.

The recording of the meeting can be found online:

https://cal-span.org/unipage/?site=cal-span&owner=DSC&date=2022-07-18
Meeting materials and presentations can also be found on the Council's website: https://www.deltacouncil.ca.gov/dpiic/meetings

Attendees

The following committee members were in attendance:

California Department of Water Resources Kris Jones, Assistant Division

Manager, Division of Integrated

Science and Engineering

California Department of Fish and Wildlife Carl Wilcox, Policy Advisor to the

Director for the Delta

California Environmental Protection Agency	Katy Landau, Special Advisor to the
--	-------------------------------------

Deputy Secretary for Water Policy

California Natural Resources Agency Nancy Vogel, Deputy Secretary for

Water

Central Valley Flood Protection Board Tim Ramirez, Board Member

Delta Protection Commission Don Nottoli, Chair

Delta Stewardship Council Virginia Madueno, Chair

Delta Science Program Laurel Larson, Lead Scientist

Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Conservancy Campbell Ingram, Executive Officer

San Francisco Bay Conservation and

Development Commission

Larry Goldzband, Executive Director

State Water Resources Control Board E. Joaquin Esquivel, Chair

US Army Corps of Engineers Josephine Axt, Chief of Planning and

Policy Division

US Bureau of Reclamation Ernest Conant, Regional Director

US Department of the Interior Gary Gold, Deputy Assistant Secretary

for Water and Science

US Environmental Protection Agency Ellen Blake, Water Division, Pacific

Southwest Region

US Geological Survey Mike Chotkowski, Bay-Delta Science

Coordinator

In addition to those listed above, the following were also in attendance to present during the meeting (listed in order of appearance):

Dr. Steve Brandt Chair, Delta Independent Science

Board

Dr. Virginia Dale Delta Independent Science Board

Dr. Joe Fernando Delta Independent Science Board

Bruce DiGennaro Program Manager, Collaborative

Science and Adaptive Management

Program

Henry DeBey Program Manager, Delta Stewardship

Council

Rachael Klopfenstein Senior Environmental Scientist, Delta

Stewardship Council

Mario Manzo Assistant Bay-Delta Office Manager,

U.S. Bureau of Reclamation

Overview and Introductions

Meeting Chair Larsen called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM on July 18, 2022, invited newly elected Delta Stewardship Council Chair Madueno to introduce herself, and welcomed members to introduce themselves.

Re-imagining the Delta Monitoring Enterprise

Chair Larsen provided context for this agenda item and introduced the panelists. Brandt, Dale, and Fernando presented the Delta ISB's Comprehensive Review of the Delta Monitoring Enterprise; DiGennaro presented the CSAMP Monitoring Assessment; Wilcox presented the 6-Agency Report evaluating five long-term biological monitoring studies.

Following the panel and Committee discussion, Chair Larsen asked if there were any public comments; there was one.

Deirdre Des Jardins provided public comment.

This section is viewable at: https://cal-span.org/unipage/?site=cal-span&owner=DSC&date=2022-07-18 minute 13:27.

Furthering One Delta, One Science

Chair Larsen invited DeBey and Klopfenstein to present the 2022-2026 Science Action Agenda and to then seek DPIIC endorsement of the plan.

DPIIC endorsed the 2022-2026 Science Action Agenda.

Following the presentation and DPIIC endorsement, Chair Larsen thanked the presenters and DPIIC for their endorsement. Chair Larsen ask if there were any public comments; there was one.

Deirdre des Jardins provided public comment.

Chair Larsen invited Manzo to present the 2020-2021 Delta Crosscut Budget Report. Following the presentation, Chair Larsen asked if there were any public comments; there was one.

Deirdre des Jardins provided public comment.

This section is viewable at: https://cal-span.org/unipage/?site=cal-span&owner=DSC&date=2022-07-18 minute 1:29:53.

Closing Remarks and Committee Business

Chair Larsen stated that Madueno and herself would welcome any follow-ups about Agenda Item 2 or topics to be considered for the next meeting, scheduled for November 7, 2022.

Chair Larsen thanked all the panelists, presenters, and Committee members.

Chair Larsen adjourned the meeting.