

DELTA STEWARDSHIP COUNCIL

Delta Stewardship Council Delta Plan Interagency Implementation Committee March 28, 2022 Meeting Summary

The Delta Stewardship Council (Council) established the Delta Plan Interagency Implementation Committee (DPIIC or Committee) after adopting the Delta Plan in 2013 and continues to oversee DPIIC activities as required by the Delta Reform Act. DPIIC serves as a forum to lead state, federal, and local agencies' efforts to implement the Delta Plan and Delta Science Plan. Committee members collaborate to implement their agencies' policies and authorities in ways that help achieve the co-equal goals of a more reliable California water supply and a restored, enhanced ecosystem in the Delta.

The recording of the meeting can be found online: <u>https://cal-span.org/unipage/?site=cal-span&owner=DSC&date=2022-03-28</u>

Meeting materials and presentations can also be found on the Council's website: <u>https://www.deltacouncil.ca.gov/dpiic/meetings</u>

Attendees

The following committee members were in attendance:

California Department of Food and Agriculture	Karen Ross, Secretary
California Department of Water Resources	Lenny Grimaldo, Assistant Environmental Director

California Environmental Protection Agency	Anna Naimark, Deputy Secretary for Water
California Natural Resources Agency	Jennifer Norris, Deputy Secretary for Biodiversity and Habitat
Central Valley Flood Protection Board	Tim Ramirez, Board Member
Delta Protection Commission	Don Nottoli, Chair
Delta Stewardship Council	Virginia Madueno, Vice Chair
Delta Science Program	Laurel Larson, Lead Scientist
NOAA	Cathy Marcinkevage, Assistant Regional Administrator, Central Valley Office
Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Conservancy	Campbell Ingram, Executive Officer
San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission	Larry Goldzband, Executive Director
State Water Resources Control Board	E. Joaquin Esquivel, Chair
US Army Corps of Engineers	Cindy Tejeda, Watershed & Floodplain Program Manager, US Army Corps of Engineers, South Pacific Division
US Bureau of Reclamation	Ernest Conant, Regional Director
US Department of the Interior	Gary Gold, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Water and Science
US Environmental Protection Agency	

US Fish and Wildlife Service	Kaylee Allen, Assistant Regional Director, Fish and Aquatic Conservation
US Geological Survey	Jane Reid, Regional Director

In addition to those listed above, the following were also in attendance to present during the meeting (listed in order of appearance):

Caitlin Sweeney	Executive Director, San Francisco Estuary Partnership
Moises Moreno-Rivera	Assistant Secretary for Equity and Environmental Justice, California Natural Resources Agency
Letitia Grenier	Program Director, San Francisco Estuary Institute
Jeff Henderson	Deputy Executive Officer for Planning, Delta Stewardship Council
Karen Kayfetz	Program Manager, Delta Stewardship Council
Martina Koller	Program Manager, Delta Stewardship Council

Overview and Introductions

Meeting Chair Nottoli called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM on March 28, 2022, thanked previous Chair Susan Tatayon, and welcomed the members to introduce themselves.

Collaboration Across the Estuary

Chair Nottoli introduced the agenda item and invited Larry Goldzband to introduce and moderate the first agenda item.

Following the panel and Committee discussion, Chair Nottoli asked if there were any public comments; there were none.

This section is viewable at: <u>https://cal-span.org/unipage/?site=cal-span&owner=DSC&date=2022-03-28</u> minute 09:08.

Delta Restoration: DPIIC Restoration Subcommittee

Chair Nottoli invited Campbell Ingram and Jeff Henderson to present outcomes of the first two Restoration Subcommittee meetings and to seek endorsement of a Subcommittee vision and goals.

Following the presentation and Committee questions, Interim Chair Nottoli thanked the presenters and asked if there were any public comments; there was one.

Gilbert Cosio provided public comment.

This section is viewable at: <u>https://cal-span.org/unipage/?site=cal-span&owner=DSC&date=2022-03-28</u> minute 1:14:34.

Following public comment, Karen Ross motioned to endorse the Subcommittee vision and priorities; Campbell Ingram seconded. There was consent to endorse the Subcommittee vision, goals, and objectives.

Delta Science: Salinity Management

Chair Nottoli introduced the agenda item and invited Dr. Laurel Larsen and Karen Kayfetz to present the motivation behind and strategy for a series of Salinity Management Workshops hosted by the Delta Science Program. The workshop series consists of an April 26-27 workshop, Summer 2022 focused working group meetings, and an October 11-12 workshop.

Following the presentation, Chair Nottoli thanked the presenters and asked if there were any public comments; there was one.

Gilbert Cosio provided public comment.

This section is viewable at: <u>https://cal-span.org/unipage/?site=cal-span&owner=DSC&date=2022-03-28</u> minute 1:47:22.

Delta Plan Performance Measures: 2021 Year in Review

Interim Chair Nottoli introduced the agenda item and invited Martina Koller to present significant changes observed by scientists who measured effectiveness of management actions in the Delta throughout 2021.

Following the presentation, Interim Chair Nottoli thanked the presenter and asked if there were any public comments; there were none.

This section is viewable at: <u>https://cal-span.org/unipage/?site=cal-span&owner=DSC&date=2022-03-28</u> minute 1:55:00.

Closing Remarks and Committee Business

Interim Chair Nottoli posed a question for the attendees about items or topics they would like considered for the next meeting, scheduled for July 18, 2022.

Chair Nottoli thanked all the panelists, presenters, and Committee members.

Interim Chair Nottoli adjourned the meeting.