

Delta Plan Interagency Implementation Committee

DELTA STEWARDSHIP COUNCIL

Delta Stewardship Council Delta Plan Interagency Implementation Committee

October 26, 2020

Meeting Summary

The Delta Stewardship Council (Council) established the Delta Plan Interagency Implementation Committee (DPIIC or Committee) after adopting the Delta Plan in 2013 and continues to oversee DPIIC activities as required by the Delta Reform Act. DPIIC serves as a forum to lead state, federal, and local agencies' efforts that implement the Delta Plan and Delta Science Plan. Committee members also coordinate priorities to improve statewide water supply reliability and ecosystem conditions in the Delta.

The recording of the meeting can be found online at <u>Cal-Span</u> (https://cal-span.org/unipage/?site=cal-span&owner=DSC&date=2020-10-26).

Meeting materials and presentations can also be found on <u>the Council's website</u> (https://www.deltacouncil.ca.gov/dpiic/meetings).

Attendees

The following committee members were in attendance:

Kaylee Allen	Field Supervisor, Bay-Delta Office, U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service (for Paul Souza, Regional Director)
Mike Chotkowski	Science Coordinator, Pacific Region, US Geological Survey (for Mark Sogge, Regional Director for the Pacific Region)
Ernest Conant	Mid-Pacific Regional Director U.S. Bureau of Reclamation (Alternate: David Mooney, Area Manager for the Bay- Delta Area Office)
Wade Crowfoot	Secretary, California Natural Resources Agency (CNRA; Alternate: Nancy Vogel, Director of the Governor's Water Portfolio Program)

Joaquin Esquivel	Chair, State Water Resources Control Board
Larry Goldzband	Executive Director, San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission (BCDC)
Josh Grover	Branch Chief, Water Branch, California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW; for Chuck Bonham, Director)
Amrith Gunesekera	Science Advisor, California Department of Food and Agriculture (for Karen Ross, Secretary)
Campbell Ingram	Executive Officer, Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Conservancy
Laurel Larson	Delta Lead Scientist
Cathy Marcinkevage	Assistant Regional Administrator, California Central Valley Office, NOAA Fisheries (for Barry Thom, Regional Administrator)
Karla Nemeth	Director, California Department of Water Resources (Alternate: Michelle Banonis, Assistant Chief Deputy Director)
Kristin Peer	Deputy Secretary and Special Counsel for Water Policy, California Environmental Protection Agency (for Jared Blumenfeld, Secretary)
Tim Ramirez	Board Member, Central Valley Flood Protection Board
Susan Tatayon	Chair, Council
Cindy Tejeda	Watershed & Floodplain Program Manager, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (for Josephine Axt, Chief of Planning and Policy, South Pacific Division)
Brian Thompson	Delta and Sacramento Basin River Lead, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (for Tomas Torres, Director Water Division, Region 9)
Oscar Villegas	Chair, Delta Protection Commission

In addition to those listed above, the following were also in attendance to present during the meeting (listed in order of appearance):

Steve Brandt Chair, Delta Independent Science Board

Jeff Henderson	Deputy Executive Officer, Planning and Performance, Council
Harriet Ross	Assistant Planning Director, Council
Jessica Fain	Director, Planning Program, BCDC
Amanda Hansen	Deputy Secretary for Climate Change, (CNRA)

Overview and Introductions

Chair Tatayon called the meeting to order at 1:00PM on October 26, 2020 and welcomed attendees to the discussion. Chair Tatayon provided webcast/recording information and instructions for public comment before providing a brief history of the Committee.

Following the history, members were given the opportunity to share critical updates with other DPIIC members and comment on the summary of the July 13, 2020 DPIIC meeting.

Grover shared that the Frank's Tract final project report had been posted online on the CDFW website. Chair Tatayon asked Amanda Bohl to introduce Committee members and Bohl provided a list of attendees. Chair Tatayon thanked Bohl and closed the agenda item.

Developing a Bold Strategy for Forward-looking Science in the Face of Rapid Environmental Change

Chair Tatayon opened the agenda item with a brief contextual background on the Science Needs Assessment Workshop—one of the three priority actions DPIIC endorsed at its November 2019 meeting to achieve ongoing, consistent, and reliable science funding—that occurred on October 5-6.

Dr. Brandt and Dr. Chotkowski presented on the outcomes of the workshop and it's "next steps".

Chair Tatayon asked if there was any public comment; there was none.

This section is viewable on <u>Cal-Span</u> (https://cal-span.org/unipage/?site=cal-span&owner=DSC&date=2020-10-26) minute 06:02.

Creating a Climate Resilient Future

Chair Tatayon invited Henderson to introduce the panel and provide context to the agenda item. Henderson provided a brief introduction and asked Ross to present on the initial findings from the Delta Adapts project. Following Ross, Fain from the BCDC presented on Bay Adapts, and Hansen from CNRA updated committee members on Governor Newsom's high priority efforts around climate change. Following the presentations, the Committee asked questions and discussed the initiatives.

Chair Tatayon asked if there was any public comment; there was none.

This section is viewable on <u>Cal-Span</u> (https://cal-span.org/unipage/?site=cal-span&owner=DSC&date=2020-10-26) minute 40:21.

Closing Remarks and Committee Business and Public Comment

Chair Tatayon cautioned for safety in these current times and provided a closing statement.

Public Comment

Chair Tatayon asked if there was any public comment; there was none.

Chair Tatayon adjourned the meeting.