Nomination of Delta Independent Science Board Members



Delta Independent Science Board

Created by the Delta Reform Act:

"Members of the Delta Independent Science Board shall be nationally or internationally prominent scientists with appropriate expertise to evaluate the broad range of scientific programs that support adaptive management of the Delta."

Delta ISB Role and Reviews

- "...provide oversight of the scientific research, monitoring, and assessment programs that support adaptive management in the Delta through periodic reviews of each of those programs...."
- Example Reviews and Products
 - Adaptive Management
 - Delta as an Evolving Place
 - Climate Change Memo and Science Needs Assessment Workshop

Transition for Delta ISB

- Ten members, with five-year term (ten year maximum)
- Broad range of expertise on the Board, reflecting Delta issues: hydrology, water quality, ecology, social sciences
- Five members have served since the initiation of the Board in 2010; one additional member stepped down after one term

Recruitment Process

- Broad advertisement and outreach for the positions
- 40 applications received
- 18 candidates interviewed
- Participation of staff from the Delta Science Program and U.S. Geological Survey in the recruitment and review of candidates

Nominees



Dr. James Cloern
US Geological Survey



Dr. Diane McKnight Univ of Colorado



Dr. Virginia Dale Oak Ridge National Laboratory



Dr. Robert Naiman
Univ of Washington



Dr. Tanya Heikkila Univ of Colorado, Denver



Dr. Lisa Wainger Univ of Maryland