

715 P Street, 15-300 Sacramento, CA 95814

916.445.5511 DELTACOUNCIL.CA.GOV

CHAIR

Virginia Madueño

MEMBERS

Frank C. Damrell, Jr. Christy Smith Maria Mehranian Don Nottoli Daniel Zingale Julie Lee

EXECUTIVE OFFICERJessica R. Pearson

For immediate release on September 1, 2022

COUNCIL HIRES NEW DEPUTY EXECUTIVE OFFICER FOR SCIENCE

SACRAMENTO – The Delta Stewardship Council is pleased to name Henry DeBey deputy executive officer for science as of September 1, 2022.

"Henry brings more than 13 years of experience working at the intersection of environmental science and policy all around the world," says Executive Officer Jessica R. Pearson. "I look forward to working with Henry in his new role to strengthen decision-making in the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta by promoting the use of the best available science and adaptive management."

Prior to being promoted to deputy executive officer for science from the Council's collaborative science and peer review unit, Henry held positions at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, The Pew Charitable Trusts, and the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization. He has a Master of Science in environmental science from Yale University and a Bachelor of Science in geography and environmental studies from the University of California, Los Angeles. Henry is passionate about science communication and working with diverse stakeholders to tackle science governance challenges.

"In a complex and rapidly-evolving social-ecological system like the Delta, science is more important than ever," Henry says. "In this new capacity, I'm thrilled to lead the Delta Science Program to advocate for and provide the best available science to inform environmental decision-making in the Delta."

To learn more about the Council's leaders, please visit the <u>executive team web page</u> (deltacouncil.ca.gov/executive-team).

For more information, email media@deltacouncil.ca.gov.

About the Council

The Delta Stewardship Council was created by the California Legislature in 2009 to advance California's water supply reliability and the Delta's ecosystem resiliency in a manner that protects and enhances the region's unique characteristics. It is composed of seven members, advised by an independent 10-member science board, and supported by a dedicated staff. For more information visit the <u>Council's website</u> (deltacouncil.ca.gov).