

A CALIFORNIA STATE AGENCY

For immediate release on January 25, 2022

Contacts: Brittany Young <u>brittany.young@deltacouncil.ca.gov</u>

Geneva Hutcheson geneva.hutcheson@deltacouncil.ca.gov 715 P Street, 15-300 Sacramento, CA 95814

916.445.5511 DELTACOUNCIL.CA.GOV

CHAIR Susan Tatayon

VICE-CHAIR Virginia Madueño

MEMBERS Frank C. Damrell, Jr. Christy Smith Maria Mehranian Don Nottoli Daniel Zingale

EXECUTIVE OFFICER Jessica R. Pearson

COUNCILMEMBER VIRGINIA MADUEÑO VOTED VICE-CHAIR OF THE DELTA STEWARDSHIP COUNCIL

SACRAMENTO – At its December 16, 2021 meeting, the Delta Stewardship Council voted Councilmember Virginia Madueño as its vice-chair. Vice-chair duties took effect immediately upon her acceptance of the position.

"I humbly and proudly accept the nomination and am happy to step up and assist you as vice-chair," Vice-Chair Madueño said to Chair Susan Tatayon. "I look forward to a new chapter of bringing more attention to our Council, to the work that we do, and to the advocacy role that we play."

Prior to Madueño's election, the vice-chair position had been vacant since Randy Fiorini's term ended in August 2020.

"Vice-Chair Madueño is an accomplished businesswoman whose distinguished background and communications expertise will spark inventive ways to continue advancing the Council's mission," said Chair Tatayon.

Vice-Chair Madueño was appointed to the Council by Governor Gavin Newsom on April 15, 2021. On January 19, 2022, the Senate Rules Committee unanimously voted to confirm her, moving her confirmation forward to the full Senate. To learn more about Vice-Chair Madueño's background and accomplishments – including being named as a 2021 Enterprising Women of the Year Award winner – please visit the <u>Councilmembers web page</u> (deltacouncil.ca.gov/council-members).

###

ABOUT THE COUNCIL

Created by the California Legislature in 2009, the Delta Stewardship Council is composed of members who represent different parts of the state and offer diverse expertise in fields such as environmental issues, science, and public service. Of the seven, four are appointed by the Governor, one each by the Senate and Assembly, and the seventh is the chair of the Delta Protection Commission. For more information visit the <u>Council's</u> <u>website</u> (deltacouncil.ca.gov).