

**NEWS RELEASE** 

April 20, 2021

Brittany Young | brittany.young@deltacouncil.ca.gov | (916) 591-4621

## VIRGINIA MADUEÑO APPOINTED TO THE DELTA STEWARDSHIP COUNCIL

980 Ninth Street, Suite 1500, Sacramento, CA 95814

916.445.5511 DELTACOUNCIL.CA.GOV

**CHAIR**Susan Tatayon

MEMBERS
Frank C. Damrell, Jr.
Virginia Madueño
Maria Mehranian
Don Nottoli
Christy Smith
Daniel Zingale

**EXECUTIVE OFFICER**Jessica R. Pearson



California Governor Gavin Newsom has appointed Virginia Madueño to serve as a member of the Delta Stewardship Council (Council) effective April 14, 2021. The compensation for this position is \$50,497.

A resident of Riverbank, Madueño has been a managing partner at SanGuard LLC since 2020, a co-owner and the director of marketing communications at World Tile Design and Showroom since 2014, and the president and CEO at Imagen LLC since 2003. She

was a member of the Riverbank City Council from 2005 to 2012 and served as mayor from 2009 to 2012. Madueño was a community organizer at Clean Water Action from 2009 to 2011 and a public information officer for Stanislaus County from 1989 to 2001. She serves as a member of the Boating and Waterways Commission and on the Board of Trustees of Gallo Center for the Arts.

Madueño has a Bachelor of Arts in communications from California State University, Stanislaus and is a 2006 graduate of the JFK School of Government at Harvard, National Hispana Leadership Institute (NHLI). In 2008, she was awarded the Trailblazer Business of the Year by the National Association of Women Business

Owners and Wells Fargo and the Latina Style Magazine Business of the Year Award. She received the Anna Maria Arias scholarship to attend the Dartmouth School of Business Minority Enterprise Program in 2009.

The seven-member Council is composed of six members serving four-year terms (four appointed by the Governor, one by the Senate, and one by the Assembly) and an additional member who is chair of the Delta Protection Commission.

For more information about councilmembers, please visit the <u>Council members</u> <u>web page</u> (deltacouncil.ca.gov/council-members).

###

## **ABOUT THE COUNCIL**

Created by the California Legislature in 2009, the Delta Stewardship Council is composed of members who represent different parts of the state and offer diverse expertise in fields such as agriculture, science, environmental issues, and public service. Of the seven, four are appointed by the Governor, one each by the Senate and Assembly, and the seventh is the chair of the Delta Protection Commission. For more information visit the Council's website (deltacouncil.ca.gov).