

980 Ninth Street, Suite 1500, Sacramento, CA 95814

916.445.5511 DELTACOUNCIL.CA.GOV

CHAIR

Susan Tatayon

MEMBERS

Frank C. Damrell, Jr. Christy Smith Maria Mehranian Don Nottoli Daniel Zingale

EXECUTIVE OFFICER lessica R. Pearson

NEWS RELEASE

February 23, 2021

Brittany Young | brittany.young@deltacouncil.ca.gov | (916) 591-4621

DELTA STEWARDSHIP COUNCIL WELCOMES NEW COUNCILMEMBER

SACRAMENTO – Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon has appointed former Assemblymember Christy Smith to serve as a member of the Delta Stewardship Council (Council) effective February 10. Smith replaces former Councilmember Mike Gatto, who resigned from his role effective February 9.

Smith, of Santa Clarita Valley, began her career at the U.S. Department of Education. She is a former member of the California State Legislature, having represented California's 38th State Assembly district. During her tenure, she authored bills on wildfire protections, environmental safeguards, and more. She has worked diligently with community partners – including environmental advocates – to build relationships at both the state and local levels.

Smith attended College of the Canyons in Santa Clarita and earned her Bachelor of Arts in political science at the University of California, Los Angeles.

The seven-member Council is composed of six members serving four-year terms (four appointed by the Governor, one by the Senate, and one by the Assembly) and an additional member who is chair of the Delta Protection Commission.

For more information about councilmembers, please visit <u>deltacouncil.ca.gov/council-members</u>.

ABOUT THE COUNCIL

Created by the California Legislature in 2009, the Delta Stewardship Council is composed of members who represent different parts of the state and offer diverse expertise in fields such as agriculture, science, environmental issues, and public service. Of the seven, four are appointed by the Governor, one each by the Senate and Assembly, and the seventh is the Chair of the Delta Protection Commission. For more information visit deltacouncil.ca.gov.